Once again

Once again a Bucharest club – this time the highly upmarket and ridiculously expensive Bambooburns. This time thankfully, there appears to have been no loss of life and few serious injuries: 41 people have, however, been hospitalised.

Once again, as with Colectiv in November 2015, the legal status of the club in question is in much doubt: early reports suggest that the club was functioning without being in possession of all the correct paperwork.

The cause of the fire is not yet known. What is known for certain (from witness statements) is that despite Romania having in place one of Europe’s toughest anti-smoking laws, Bamboo allowed its customers to smoke.

Once again, the fact that some people in Romania appear to think that laws are made for ‘the little people’ and simply do not apply to them has led to disaster.

Once again, the tone is being set by a corrupt Romanian government. A government which wants to free thousands of criminals who also thought that the law simply does not apply to them. And as long as the government continues to set a tone of ‘it’s fine to ignore the law’ then we should expect rules to be bent and regulations to be overlooked. And more disasters.

6 thoughts on “Once again

  1. Similarly, in 1920 an improvised explosive device placed by a left-wing terrorist group comprised of Max Goldstein, Leon Lichtblau and Saul Ozias, blows up in the Romanian Senate, killing the Minister of Justice and two other senators. Likewise, President of the Senate and two Orthodox bishops are severely injured.
    So the moral is to never ever use bombs, fireworks, and cigarettes in a closed space!

    Like

      1. I am not appeasing terrorism. Far from it. I merely thought that it is a good pretext to teach the kids some history. I’ve noticed that Craig has also the same disposition to teach Romanians their history. Only that he is mainly interested in the Legionnaire Movement and the anti-Jewish race riots, his hobbyhorses. I cover what is left out. We are a (ad hoc) team.

        Like

  2. As I have always said, Bucuresti is a third world backwater. I wouldn’t trust the people “in power” here as far as I could throw them. When I go clubbing now I carry a 2 liter fire suppression system in my backpack.

    Like

    1. 1. “As I have always said, Bucuresti is a third world backwater.”

      That is why the meat is cheap… A bargain…

      2. “I wouldn’t trust the people “in power” here as far as I could throw them.”

      I would throw the smoking retards…

      3. “When I go clubbing now I carry a 2 liter fire suppression system in my backpack.”

      What? Why do you still do it then? Ah, the cheap chicken smoked meat… Thank goodness I am veggie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

